top of page

Favorite Place in the WHOLE WORLD

I think almost everyone's #1 favorite place would be their home. But, I am positive that this place either ties with that or is a #1.5. Before I got to Zermatt my Swiss friends all "warned" me that this would be the most beautiful place in the world. I had done some research and didn't doubt them for a second. But HOLY COW. I had no idea what I was getting into. Zermatt is honestly the most unrealistically beautiful places I've seen in my life so far.

In the past four months I have seen some amazing places, and consider Colorado's Rocky Mountains some of my favorite, but Zermatt is a whole new level, even for a nature-nerd like me. Until you've seen this place with your own eyes you have a hard time feeling the real-ness of it.

Take a look at some photos. I'll warn you now about how long this post will be because I can't decide which photos to post. I can't wait to go back.

The train ride there took about four hours. On the way we passed through a tiny little village called St. Nicklaus.

2014-12-11 11.11.00_edited.jpg

We met three guys on the train who were from Washington D.C. They were fun to talk to and made the usual quiet train ride much more exciting. I felt a lot more connected to home just talking with some Americans. Sometimes I really forget how much of a difference that makes in your comfort levels. Being able to talk without feeling like you're annoying because you can't speak in their native language. I feel so bad that my friends here have to speak English with me.

Ready to see something gorgeous?! Yes, yes you are.

2014-12-11 12.51.39.jpg

View of the Matterhorn from Zermatt. Zermatt is a car-free village so you either walk, bike, or take these little taxis everywhere. It's such a refreshing village. Everyone is laid back and happy and most likely walking around in ski boots and carrying their skis. It was love at first sight for me. Then, I went up further and it got even better.

2014-12-11 15.55.00.jpg
2014-12-11 15.01.33_edited.jpg
2014-12-11 15.49.58.jpg

The first day we went up to Sunnega ski area. Two of the main ski areas were closed because of wind. It was still beautiful. We walked around the deck outside and sat inside the little chalet for a bit and watched people ski.

The chalet at Sunnega ski area.

2014-12-11 15.02.30.jpg
2014-12-11 14.57.19_edited.jpg

Here is the view we had off our hotel room balcony!

2014-12-11 12.18.27_edited.jpg
2014-12-11 14.59.14.jpg
2014-12-11 15.49.50.jpg
2014-12-11 15.02.35.jpg

We caught one of the last cable cars down the mountain and were literally packed shoulder to shoulder with skiers and snowboarders. It was such a fun atmosphere. Everyone was happy and exhausted from spending the day on the mountain.

We headed back into the village and found an awesome little place to get some food. We had the best tomato soup I've ever had and split a pizza. I forgot that we were so close to Italy. I was talking to a man in the chalet and he was giving me directions to the best hills to start sking on. He said "just make sure you stay to the right, if you go left, you will end up in Italy, and you don't want that."

I knew I really wanted to ski in the Alps, but I kept questioning myself all night. I checked out a few rental places in town and it was only around 100 francs to rent absolutely everything I would need. But, I kept going back to a few months ago when I decided I needed to go canyoning and ended up spraining my ankle so bad I couldn't walk for two months. That was no fun.

By morning, I finally decided that I wanted to ski and I could do it. I've actually only skied two times before this. Once in Boone and once in Dubuque. Both Iowa. I took lessons when I was maybe 12 and skied in 8th grade. Not on mountains. Definitely not the Alps. WOWZA. What am I getting myself into.

2014-12-12 18.10.05.jpg

All geared up and ready to go. (kind of)

2014-12-12 13.08.48_edited.jpg

I waited at the top of the mountain for at least 15 minutes and watched other people go down first. I also eavesdropped on this lady giving lessons to a whole group of people. This all helped, but I knew I just had to go for it. Not going to lie, I kind of slid halfway down the first part of the run.

In the real mountains you can't do the snowplow the whole way down to try to prevent yourself from flying down and being out of control. I taught myself and watched other use the whole width of the mountain and go back and forth to keep at a manageable speed. It took a while, but it go it! I actually did it.

I was also thankful for the leg muscles I had built up this summer biking. My legs were burning after this.

2014-12-12 13.42.45_edited.jpg

The views were incredible!!! After getting into the middle of the ski run I looked around me and all I could see were snow covered mountains towering on every side. It was unbelievable.

2014-12-12 13.19.07.jpg
2014-12-12 10.45.55.jpg
2014-12-12 10.31.38.jpg

Before I took off I studied the map pretty well and thought I knew where I was going. Take off from Gornergrat, follow the blue run until you see the sign for #38 which was labeled "slow run". How do you even mess that up?!

I got to the first split and stayed FAR AWAY from the red path. But, I didn't see a 38 anywhere. I saw 36 and 37 but those were just normal blue runs and I read online that a blue can seem extremely difficult for a beginner, especially me, from IOWA. Land of cornfields.

I saw a few other beginner looking people go down the 37 so I just went with it and followed them. It was difficult. I got to parts of the run where it seemed like I was going straight downhill. Somehow I stayed calm and just worried about being in a wide back and forth pattern. It worked. I made it to the bottom and rode the train back up to the top to let gma know that I'd survived.

2014-12-12 13.24.59.jpg

I have ski fever realllllyyy bad now. Can't wait to get back to the slopes.

2014-12-12 13.18.57.jpg
2014-12-12 10.31.37.jpg

I love Zermatt!!!!

Gma and I made it off of the mountain and collapsed into seats on the train to head back to Geneva. I could have easily spent three or four more days there. Or a lifetime, that would be okay too. I decided I'm taking my parents back there when they come to visit in in January! Counting down the days!


bottom of page