top of page

Back from LONDON!

Back from London, and once again, it was an incredible experience! I don't have enough good things to say about that city and can't wait to go back. Which really means alot since I've never been too excited about cities that large. People there seem so friendly, it helps that they all speak English, the Tube is super easy to navigate once you get over the initial OMG there are so many different colores and lines on this map, and there are so many things to see and do!

Friday I arrived early in the morning and made my way to the Westminster Abbey. I took the free tour around the inside because it was about a 2 hour wait for the guided one. I never realized how many people were buried in there and I definitely didn't expect it to look the way it does. Inside, there are small chapels lining the outer walls, almost all the way around the Abbey. The guided narration told you all about the different people buried there and some interesting stories. They didn't let us take any pictures inside, but I have a few from the outside.

I walked around with a girl from Austrailia. We were standing in line right next to eachother and both of us kind of looked at eachother and asked "are you alone?" Yep, that worked out perfectly. She has been traveling around for about 6 months and isn't even sure when she's going back home to Austrailia. That, is a little bit crazy, in my opinion, but people do it all the time over here.

2014-11-07 14.57.46_edited.jpg
2014-11-07 14.57.20_edited.jpg
2014-11-07 14.58.42_edited.jpg

Big Ben and the Houses of Parlaiment were also in this area, and you could see The London Eye across the river. The weather could really never make up it's mind all weekend. It would go from sunny to overcast and maybe rain a little, then rain a LOT, and you would get so cold, but then you go underground to the tube and it's like a sauna in there. It was a slight struggle. Layers are important.

2014-11-07 13.46.56-1.jpg

Friday night, I saw Jersey Boys at the Picadilly Circus. It was SO GOOD! This is something that I would have never done on my own, so I'm glad a friend suggested it. The theater was so cute and old fashioned. I would definitely recommend going to a show in London, they are everywhere. White Christmas was playing, and I think that would be really cool to see.

2014-11-07 18.10.14.jpg

I also walked around the middle of London on a busy Friday night. People everywhere and the streets were all decorated for Christmas, street performers were all over. Friday was a full day and I was tired!

I made it back to my hostel around midnight. The hostel was an old English pub on the bottom floor and you came in this little side door and followed these winding steps up to the top where they had rooms. I loved it, it had so much character. In the mornings we got free breakfast and they served us this awesome "Full English Breakfast". We got toast, a fried egg, sausage, bacon, baked beans, and a coffee or tea.

Better than the free breakfast I had at another place which consisted of bread, coco puffs cereal, and crackers. I wanted to say "where is the protein here, people?!" Haha. More updates coming soon. :)

2014-11-07 18.39.59.jpg


bottom of page