top of page

Happy Fall, Happy Friday

2014-10-17 08.20.52_edited.jpg

Today, I woke up and went for a little early morning walk. By early morning, I mean like 5 AM early morning. WHAT?! Yeah, don't ask me why my body thought it was even a little bit okay to wake up that early on a Friday when I have no class, or any day for that matter. Oh well, I went for a walk and it rewarded me by letting me fall back asleep til like 8. Thank you, self, I owe ya one.

I made myself a little break-feast of coconut flour pancakes slathered in peanut butter & blueberries. Delicious! Then, I spent way too much time on my computer. Working on re-designing my resume (headache, by the way) and writing a few cover letters, and also registering for my LAST SEMESTER of college courses (translation: making sure I have everything required to graduate). This all made me feel really weird inside, so I went for another walk. This walk ended up being a 4 hour long walk, but I just kept finding beautiful places and the weather was perfect.

2014-10-17 07.55.13_edited.jpg

This is the bridge above where the Arve River and the Rhone River meet, just on the edge of Geneva. I spotted the trail to the bridge last week, but I was riding a bike, and it's not exactly the best trail to bike on. So, I went back today and hiked along the BEAUTIFUL river bank.

2014-10-17 07.55.40_edited_edited.jpg
2014-10-17 07.56.33.jpg

The trails along the river reminded me of home at Swan Lake. Swan Lake, I miss you and everyone there. Here are three of my favorite photos of home.

IMG_20140618_054110.jpg
IMG_20140701_212921.jpg
2014-10-17 18.24.24.jpeg

I finally made my way back to my room and had some supper. I downloaded this really cool timelapse app on my phone and wanted to try it out with the sunset. (See the video link below if you're interested) After sitting there for 45 minutes with my phone sitting in my shoe (make-shift tripod, so it stayed in the same exact spot) and watching my battery drop from 45% to 5%, the video turned out okay, but not as cool as I was hoping. I think I need to practice a little bit.

I can't get the video to show up in the actual post, so here's a link.

Geneva was really top notch today as far as scenery goes. It was extremely clear this afternoon, so there was a perfect view of Mont Blanc. Which usually isn't the case.

2014-10-17 11.50.55_edited.jpg
2014-10-17 13.22.48.jpg
2014-10-17 13.09.23.jpg

On Monday I leave here for Amsterdam! I'll be in Amsterdam until Saturday morning and then will fly to London and work at the NFL game (Lions vs. Jaguars) YAY! Then finally back to Geneva. I'm hoping that I will be able to get some photos and updates onto the blog while I'm gone and it's not neglected for a week and then bombarded with photos and posts, but we'll see how life on the road treats me.

I'm traveling for a whole week with just a backpack. That should be interesting. Good thing my mom and dad trained me (raised me might be a better phrase?) to be a light packer and to be resourceful.

Have an awesome weekend. :)


bottom of page